Integrating with Chrome extensions using OAuth

Hey everyone :wave: my name’s Adam and I’ve been a Customer Support Engineer here at Intercom for over 2 years now. Throughout my time being a support engineer I’ve seen the developer platform evolve from a place where we would manually review each request to generate a Rest API Key to the growing community we have today.

One topic I’ve been wanting to bring up now for some time is integrating Intercom with a browser extension.

Note
This topic isn’t about installing the Intercom Messenger in a browser extension but rather it’s a guide for 3rd party developers on how to retrieve end user Access Tokens through OAuth and store them completely on the client side.

This isn’t an official Intercom integration guide but rather just a side project I’ve been working on.

In The Past
To give some context, integrating with Intercom in the past was a lot different than our current workflows. Each Intercom workspace only had a single Rest API Key that had full permissions. This led to a not so great “copy and paste your API Key” style for 3rd party integrations. In order for a 3rd party to integrate with your Intercom workspace they would ask you to give them your only API Key with unrestricted access to all of your Intercom data :grimacing:

During this period of time there were some pretty neat browser extensions developed like this one which would scan your current page for email addresses and import them into your workspace:

When we got serious about enabling 3rd party developers we revamped our integration process to use the industry standard OAuth protocol and made the “copy and paste your API Key” style against our terms of service: