OAuth Workflow Issue

Hi,

We’re building an Intercom app and ran into an OAuth issue. The application does not get notified when a user cancels the OAuth process (i.e. the user clicks on the “Cancel” button instead of the “Authorize access” button on the OAuth page). Is there any setting that we need to enable to get notifications when users cancel the authorizations?

Thanks,
sabin.

Hey @isabin - there’s no actual notification or way Intercom tells you if this occurs yet. Interesting thought though. What ideally would you like to receive or see here, and where? Is there any other platform that achieves this well?

Hi Zach,

Thank you for your response… Many vendors that support OAuth2 have implemented this functionality (Google, Slack, HubSpot, etc.). You usually get 2 query parameters: 1) “error”, which indicates that this is an error (i.e. the user did not authorize the application) and 2) “state”, which is the original state string generated by the client.

What is the formal way to open a ticket for this issue?

Thanks,
sabin.

Thanks @isabin - it’s not really an issue as much as a feature request and we note them all here so we’ve read you loud and clear on wanting this :slightly_smiling_face: Cheers for letting us know!