How can I prevent teammates from seeing certain Inboxes? | Community
Skip to main content
Answered

How can I prevent teammates from seeing certain Inboxes?

  • Sep 9, 2020 7:56 AM UTC
  • 3 replies
  • 304 views

For our use-case it's necessary that we have a high number of agents that can *NOT* see each-other's ongoing conversations.

 

After some testing, it seems like even a user with all of its permissions switched to "OFF" can still go to inbox > See More and gain access to the inbox channels of all the other users.

 

This is problematic for our use case, where the different agents are essentially "exhibitors" on a digital event (and therefore it would be very bad if they could "spy" on each-other's lead conversations).

 

How would you proceed?

Best answer by Eric Fitz

Hey @glenn s​, we don't currently offer this functionality. There's no way to restrict which Inboxes can be viewed by teammates.

 

However, I do know that this is something our product team are hoping to roll out. While I don't have an exact timeline to share with you, I do know that this is planned!

View original

3 replies

Eric Fitz
Employee
Forum|alt.badge.img+5
  • Employee
  • Answer
  • Sep 9, 2020 11:05 AM UTC

Hey @glenn s​, we don't currently offer this functionality. There's no way to restrict which Inboxes can be viewed by teammates.

 

However, I do know that this is something our product team are hoping to roll out. While I don't have an exact timeline to share with you, I do know that this is planned!


Roy
Top Expert ✨
Forum|alt.badge.img+7
  • Top Expert ✨
  • Dec 14, 2020 1:54 AM UTC

@glenn s​ , Finally, Intercom developed a solution for that, Now we can control access to a conversation by team

More info here: https://www.intercom.com/changes/en/-control-access-to-conversations-by-teams-or-roles-with-our-new-inbox-permission-


  • New Participant
  • Nov 23, 2021 9:14 PM UTC

@roy s11​ unfortunately, I don't think that solution helps in this use case. For my use case, I can't even allow someone on another team to see a different team inbox or another team's teammates. Is there a way to get rid of the "see more" button? image