I can see that you’re already working on the merging conversation feature. Please add a related feature - to split tickets.
Problem: A customer creates a chat with question A. We resolve it. Later customer reopens a chat with a question B, we resolve it. Later the same customer again reopens the chat with a question C. And so on. We have cases when the same customer keeps one chat for months and has there 10+ different conversations.
That impacts negatively our team and individual statistic:
- agent gets 1 productivity instead of 10
- the total resolution time is in months instead of minutes
- the reopening rate is 10+ instead of 0 for such chats
We need to allow customers to reopen a chat in case our solution was not satisfying. But we can’t afford to keep all conversations with the same customer in one chat.
Example on how this feature works in other tools:
When a new message arrives that is not relevant to an existing conversation, an agent clicks on the details of this message and chooses “Split” or “Move” (depending on the tool, wording was different). Then in a pop-up window there’s an option to choose to which team a new chat should go to and to whom it should be assigned (optionally) + a question if an agent wants to keep this chat open or to close it. If an agents chooses to close it, there should be no CSat. If an agent chooses to keep it open, they can continue handling initial issue.
As for that message that is chosen to be split/moved, it creates a new conversation in a relevant team. The conversation contains that message from a customer + a technical message in Intercom that it was split from another conversation (link to that conversation).
The old conversation keeps the message that was “moved” but there’s a technical information that this message was moved to a new conversation by [agent name] + a link to that conversation.
On the customer’s side, as soon as the split is performed, they see a message from Intercom in their old chat that their message was moved to a new conversation to be handled as a separate issue. When that customer opens a newly created conversation, they see “This conversation was automatically created to handle the issue you’ve raised in this message:” and later customer’s message is shown.
A cherry on the top request: If I choose to split a conversation, allow me to move not one message, but a few. Many times, customers send each sentence as a new message instead of combining those in one paragraph. So it will be useful to move a group of messages to a new conversation.
As for data and metrics:
If a conversation was closed, then a customer reopened it, then an agent split the message and moved it to another conversation and chose to close this old conversation, then there should be no impact of number of chats re-opened, as well as the closure date should be initial. It’s due to the fact that in initial conversation no changes actually happened, it was just a wrong choice of a customer.
