In many other systems if users don’t have access to a settings area, the visibility to navigate to it is simply removed from view.
In intercom, if you do not have a permission to view a settings screen, the behavior is that a pop-up shows ‘you do not have permission to access this’
This is both confusing and distracting to the end-user. I believe a more streamlined experience would be to hide the icon / UI area where a user does not have permissions.
Examples: - Lighning bolt on manage automation permissions, settings gear on manage all settings permission, reports on reporting permission, etc.

