Visitors conversations displayed after registerIdentifiedUser | Community
Skip to main content
Answered

Visitors conversations displayed after registerIdentifiedUser

  • Oct 13, 2021 8:47 AM UTC
  • 1 reply
  • 142 views

Steps:

  • Call Intercom registerUnidentifiedUser then Intercom displayMessenger
  • Make some conversations
  • Login to app and call Intercom registerIdentifiedUser then Intercom displayMessenger
  • Visitor conversation appear in messenger and may merged to user conversation

Is this the default intercom behaviour or we did something wrong?

Best answer by Roy

Hello @abdulsalam​ ,

 

Please take a look at the following:

 

Automatic merges require no action on your part. When a person visits your website in a logged-out state, they’re given an Intercom cookie to uniquely identify them. Once they start a conversation or reply to a message, they become a lead. 

 

If they log in or sign up to your product while the Intercom cookie is present, their lead profile will be automatically merged with their user profile. 

 

More information can be found here.

View original

1 reply

Roy
Top Expert ✨
Forum|alt.badge.img+7
  • Top Expert ✨
  • Answer
  • Oct 13, 2021 10:16 PM UTC

Hello @abdulsalam​ ,

 

Please take a look at the following:

 

Automatic merges require no action on your part. When a person visits your website in a logged-out state, they’re given an Intercom cookie to uniquely identify them. Once they start a conversation or reply to a message, they become a lead. 

 

If they log in or sign up to your product while the Intercom cookie is present, their lead profile will be automatically merged with their user profile. 

 

More information can be found here.