Can we edit or update an outbound message after users have already received it? | Community
Skip to main content
Answered

Can we edit or update an outbound message after users have already received it?

  • Feb 17, 2026 11:29 PM UTC
  • 1 reply
  • 406 views

Hi everyone,

If we have an outbound message that was already sent to users and they’ve received it, is there any way to update or change that message for those same users?

We tried creating a new version of the outbound message, but it only applies to new users. Users who already received the original message continue to see the old content.

Is there any option in Intercom to modify or replace or delete those previously delivered outbound messages?

Thanks in advance 🙏

Best answer by Thomas Metcalf

You cant change the message that has already been sent. But if you want to send a new proactive message try using the ‘If a customer has been unresponsive’ workflow type - I use this to trigger ‘wait’ messages after the customer has been assigned to a team inbox 

View original

1 reply

Forum|alt.badge.img+3
  • Innovator ✨
  • Answer
  • Feb 25, 2026 12:23 PM UTC

You cant change the message that has already been sent. But if you want to send a new proactive message try using the ‘If a customer has been unresponsive’ workflow type - I use this to trigger ‘wait’ messages after the customer has been assigned to a team inbox