Allow workflow interactions without reopening closed conversations | Community
Skip to main content
Submitted

Allow workflow interactions without reopening closed conversations

Related products:Workflows
  • August 13, 2026
  • 0 replies
  • 5 views

We use an Intercom workflow triggered by “If teammate changes the conversation state” to collect CSAT after an agent closes a conversation.

The workflow has multiple branches based on the customer's CSAT response, so we need to continue performing different actions after the conversation has already been closed.

At the beginning of the workflow, the customer is presented with two button options:

  • Continue Chat
  • Rate a chat

The problem is that when the customer clicks one of these buttons, Intercom treats the button click as a new customer reply. As a result, the closed conversation is reopened and, because we have automatic assignment enabled, it can immediately be assigned to an available teammate.

This creates an unwanted side effect: a simple interaction with a CSAT workflow can become a new assigned conversation and affect agent workload and conversation statistics.

 

We currently add a Close conversation action at the end of the workflow to close the conversation again.

However, this is not ideal because the conversation has already been closed, and the customer's interaction with the workflow should not necessarily create a new conversation/reopen the existing one in the first place.

 

It would be useful to have an option for workflow buttons/actions to interact with a closed conversation without reopening it or treating the interaction as a new customer reply.