Answered

How do I de-duplicate user records?

  • 15 June 2021
  • 1 reply
  • 127 views

We recently had to update our customer's user ID's and a few duplicate records were created in the process. We are not sure how this happened but what I am wondering is what will happen if we archive the duplicate record?

 

We recently had to update our customer's user ID's in Intercom and a few duplicate records were created in the process. We are not sure how this happened but what I am wondering is what will happen if we archive the duplicate record? I read that we can't merge 2 users so it seems like archiving the duplicate is the only alternative. I'm just worried about that possibly having unwanted side effects. Any advice would be appreciated!

icon

Best answer by Eric Fitz 17 June 2021, 15:37

View original

1 reply

Userlevel 1

Hey @jolie​, it's likely that the newly created user records don't have any conversations or the like attributed with them. Archiving the duplicate record will simply remove these records and won't impact the "original" user in any way, shape or form.

Reply